Pages

Sunday, December 14, 2014

Her Christmas Earl--A Regency Novella ---Anna Campbell

I have read several holiday novellas by Anna Campbell. Each one has been very sweet and romantic. Ms. Campbell's Her Christmas Earl is a sensuous story set during the holiday season.




It's Christmas Eve, Phillipa Sanders is searching Lord Erskine's room for an incriminating letter written by her sister, Amelia. Her sister has recently become engaged and Phillpa feels that Erskine may use the letter to blackmail her sister.

The dressing room door jerked open, unbalancing her. She only just saved herself from tumbling to the floor in an undignified heap. As she stared up at the looming figure above her, panic hammered through her, turning her blood to ice.

"What have we here?" The Scottish burr in the deep drawl brushed across her nerves as sandpaper.


Is Amelia scheming to trap Lord Erskine into marriage?
Does the charming handsome Scottish Lord wriggle his way out of this situation?
Spend a few hours reading this novella as all will be revealed.


Reviewed by Susan Gorman




Wednesday, December 10, 2014

All I Want for Christmas is Blue ~~ A Lord and Lady Spy Novella by Shana Galen



I was very disappointed when author Shana Galen retired Blue, my favorite character from The Lord and Lady Spy novels. I couldn't believe that I wouldn't be reading about Blue's brightly colored capes and pink waist coats, his adventures with Butterfly, Baron, Wolf and Saint and his unusual obsession with the opera.

After reading A Spy Wore Blue and Love and Let Spy, I wasn't convinced that my favorite blue -eyed spy was enjoying retirement from the Barbican group. Helena wasn't mentioned in the last book. My hero didn't get his happily ever after. Or did he?




"Now I understand your sudden interest in opera," Baron said, coming to stand beside him. "She's lovely. I always thought your tastes ran to baritones."

"I'm full of surprises."

"So am I."

Blue gave his lace a last fluff and lifted his gaze to the man beside him. Winston Keating was the new leader of the Barbican group, the Crown's most elite espionage wing. They'd recently foiled an attempt to blow up Parliament, and that had been on top of thwarting an assassination attempt of the Prince Regent himself.

"Hardly," Blue remarked, giving Baron's wrinkled coat a disdainful glance. One would think a man with those broad shoulders might look better in a coat.

"I imagine you are here in an attempt to entice me back to the Barbican group."

Baron tried to look innocent. "Did you ever leave? I seem to remember you were at Bonde's side when she brought down Fonce."

"Coincidence."



Baron is trying to entice Blue into assisting the Barbican group by decoding a message. Blue is tempted because he loves to work through puzzles and codes but, he promised to put Helena first and retire from spying. He declines. Reluctantly.

Shana Galen has written a sweet, sexy, holiday romance for Blue and Helena. I enjoyed the entire book from the fabulous sexy cover to the last few words. Fans of the much loved Lord and Lady Spy series will enjoy Lord and Lady Bloomington's coach ride to the Ely Ball. The adventure begins as Blue's plans for a bit of passion in the coach are interrupted by an unexpected visit. I enjoyed the unexpected events which occurred at the Ely Christmas ball. Both our hero and heroine learn important truths about each other, their careers and families.

Thank you Shana Galen for the Happily Ever After for Blue and Helena! All I Want for Christmas is Blue is the perfect gift for your readers who enjoyed The Lord and Lady Spy series!

Reviewed by Susan Gorman



Sunday, December 7, 2014

Viscount of Vice by Shana Galen

Viscount of Vice  is the first novella in Shana Galen's new Covent Garden Cubs series,  and will be released January 6, 2015. The novella is a fast-paced regency romp filled with adventure and passion! 



Moisture gathered on his fingers, and his hand slipped. He could not hold on much longer. Perhaps his death was for the best. It wasn't as though anyone would mourn him. It wasn't as though he had anything to live for. 

Still, it seemed harsh even for one such as Beelzebub to claim him when he was hanging naked from a window of one of the most prestigious addresses in Mayfair.
Who could resist a story which opens with the hero dangling naked off a balcony ?? Can you imagine? I absolutely loved the first chapter of this novella as it was well-written and laugh -out -loud funny. I couldn't help falling for the novella's hero ; the charming scoundrel Flynn.

Ms. Galen's hero, heroine and their adventures are well -written and the storyline conflict is credible. Flynn meets with Sir Brooks Derring. Derring has some important information for Flynn and the two men head towards the town of Bath. Flynn meets and dances with Lady Emma Talbot, at an assembly in Bath. The character of Emma resonated with me. She's not the average society miss looking to marry a wealthy nobleman. She's independent and enjoys volunteering at the hospital. Emma has been love with Flynn for years. Flynn might be in lust with Emma but he's afraid of Emma's brother, the powerful Duke of Ravenscroft-- the hero from the author's book Sapphires Are An Earl's Best friend.


Viscount of Vice provides a great transition to Ms. Galen's new Covent Garden Cubs series. The novella explores several social issues and introduces the new series villain. I read the novella in one sitting. It held my interest and I am looking forward to the first book in the series Earls Just Want to Have Fun.



Reviewed by Susan Gorman

Follow this link to Susan Gorman's review of Earls Just Want to Have Fun! 

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Review of The Hero by Robyn Carr



Book 3 in the Thunder Point series.
The Hero.

Actually, this wonderful story was full of heroes. Heroes here. Heroes there.
It was awesome. It was overflowing with Heroes.
So much so in fact, one of the heroes stories slipped over into the next book of the series.
 This is a book that calls to me when I am trying to go to sleep,
"How can you sleep with all this going on?"
 The book that taunts me when I am making dinner,
"I know what happens next and you don't, ha ha ha!"
The characters are so real and true that you pick up the phone to call them up to go out to lunch. Wait, did I say that?? No, I never really did that.



So much going on. The book did not have a moment of slow time.
It was all action, life, kids, construction, suspense, crisis and love.
Glorious wonderful love.
There is thunder and lightning, the beach, a small town more like a family.
Did I mention love? The story runneth over with great
people sharing love, advice and furniture.
I highly recommend this Robyn Carr story. I have not read the first
two books of the series. Or anything after Book 4. But it is easy
to fall in with who is who and the community of the story. Though,
I am pretty sure the rest of the series will probably also be wonderful.

Review by Lisa Hutson